RELEASE
1979
LABEL
MCA
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Rockabilly, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

In the wake of the number one British ranking for 20 Golden Greats in 1978 and the release of the feature film The Buddy Holly Story, MCA U.K. assembled this six-LP box set (which finally was released in the U.S. in February 1981). It traces Buddy Holly's career from his country & western duo with Bob Montgomery in 1954/1955 to his 1956 Nashville sessions for Decca Records; the Clovis, NM, recordings with the Crickets and producer Norman Petty that launched his career in 1957; the New York sessions of 1958; the final 1958 demo recordings; the various posthumously overdubbed versions of the demos; and other assorted rarities. In other words, all the material that Decca/MCA previously had spread across seven LPs -- The "Chirping" Crickets, Buddy Holly, That'll Be the Day, Reminiscing, Showcase, Holly in the Hills, and Giant -- between 1957 and 1969 (not counting the many compilations) was here, plus more. The box also contained an extensive scrapbook, lots of liner notes, and a detailed discography. It was, thus, the state of the art in box sets just prior to the CD era, and given Holly's importance in the history of rock & roll, an essential album for any serious collector. With the passing of the LP era, it is out of print, and MCA claims to be gathering more unreleased material for some comparable box set, though years go by without its appearing. Meanwhile, if you needed one record album to demonstrate what the most popular music of the second half of the 20th century sounded like, this would be it.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Oh Boy!http://itunes.apple.com/album/oh-boy!/id509181745?i=509181746&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Not Fade Awayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/not-fade-away/id509181745?i=509181747&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. You've Got Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youve-got-love/id509181745?i=509181748&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Maybe Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-baby/id509181745?i=509181892&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. It's Too Latehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-too-late/id509181745?i=509181900&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Tell Me Howhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-how/id509181745?i=509181901&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. That'll Be the Dayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thatll-be-the-day/id509181745?i=509181902&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. I'm Lookin' for Someone to Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-lookin-for-someone-to-love/id509181745?i=509181903&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. An Empty Cup (And a Broken Heart)http://itunes.apple.com/album/an-empty-cup-and-a-broken-heart/id509181745?i=509181904&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Send Me Some Lovin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/send-me-some-lovin/id509181745?i=509181905&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Rock Me My Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rock-me-my-baby/id509181745?i=509181906&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Peggy Suehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/peggy-sue/id509181745?i=509181907&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Look At Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/look-at-me/id509181745?i=509182021&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Listen to Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/listen-to-me/id509181745?i=509182022&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Valley of Tearshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/valley-of-tears/id509181745?i=509182023&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Ready Teddyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ready-teddy/id509181745?i=509182024&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Everydayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everyday/id509181745?i=509182025&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Mail Man Bring Me No More Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mail-man-bring-me-no-more-blues/id509181745?i=509182026&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Words of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/words-of-love/id509181745?i=509182027&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. You're So Square (Baby, I Don't Care)http://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-so-square-baby-i-dont/id509181745?i=509182028&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Rave Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rave-on/id509181745?i=509182032&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Little Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/little-baby/id509181745?i=509182033&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. You Are My One Desirehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-are-my-one-desire/id509181745?i=509182047&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. Modern Don Juanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/modern-don-juan/id509181745?i=509182051&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. Rock Around With Ollie Veehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rock-around-with-ollie-vee/id509181745?i=509182077&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. Ting-A-Linghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ting-a-ling/id509181745?i=509182078&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  27. Girl On My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/girl-on-my-mind/id509181745?i=509182079&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  28. I'm Changing All Those Changeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-changing-all-those-changes/id509181745?i=509182080&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  29. Don't Come Back Knockinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-come-back-knocking/id509181745?i=509182081&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  30. Midnight Shifthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/midnight-shift/id509181745?i=509182082&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  31. Raining in My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/raining-in-my-heart/id509181745?i=509182083&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  32. Early in the Morninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/early-in-the-morning/id509181745?i=509182224&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  33. Heartbeathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heartbeat/id509181745?i=509182225&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  34. Think It Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/think-it-over/id509181745?i=509182226&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  35. It's So Easyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-so-easy/id509181745?i=509182227&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  36. It Doesn't Matter Anymorehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-doesnt-matter-anymore/id509181745?i=509182228&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  37. Peggy Sue Got Marriedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/peggy-sue-got-married/id509181745?i=509182229&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  38. Well...All Righthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/well...all-right/id509181745?i=509182230&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  39. What to Dohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/what-to-do/id509181745?i=509182231&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  40. That Makes It Toughhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/that-makes-it-tough/id509181745?i=509182237&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  41. Now We're Onehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/now-were-one/id509181745?i=509182272&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  42. Take Your Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/take-your-time/id509181745?i=509182273&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  43. Crying, Waiting, Hopinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/crying-waiting-hoping/id509181745?i=509182274&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  44. True Love Wayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/true-love-ways/id509181745?i=509182275&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  45. Learning the Gamehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/learning-the-game/id509181745?i=509182277&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  46. Moondreamshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/moondreams/id509181745?i=509182278&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  47. That's What They Sayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-what-they-say/id509181745?i=509182279&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  48. Blue Days, Black Nightshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blue-days-black-nights/id509181745?i=509182280&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  49. Love Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-me/id509181745?i=509182281&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  50. Fool's Paradisehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fools-paradise/id509181745?i=509182282&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  51. Lonesome Tearshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lonesome-tears/id509181745?i=509182283&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  52. Real Wild Childhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/real-wild-child/id509181745?i=509182286&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  53. Oh You Beautiful Dollhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/oh-you-beautiful-doll/id509181745?i=509182287&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  54. Last Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/last-night/id509181745?i=509182288&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  55. More Than I Can Sayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/more-than-i-can-say/id509181745?i=509182453&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  56. RockinĀ“ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Fluhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rockin-pneumonia-boogie-woogie/id509181745?i=509182458&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  57. Great Balls of Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/great-balls-of-fire/id509181745?i=509182459&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  58. Ting-a-Linghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ting-a-ling/id509181745?i=509182460&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  59. Just This Oncehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-this-once/id509181745?i=509182461&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  60. Deborahhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/deborah/id509181745?i=509182462&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  61. Baby My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-my-heart/id509181745?i=509182464&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  62. When You Ask About Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-you-ask-about-love/id509181745?i=509182465&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  63. Time Will Tellhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-will-tell/id509181745?i=509182466&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  64. A Sweet Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-sweet-love/id509181745?i=509182467&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  65. I Fought the Lawhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-fought-the-law/id509181745?i=509182468&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  66. LoveĀ“s Made a Fool of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-s-made-a-fool-of-you/id509181745?i=509182490&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album