RELEASE
1979
LABEL
MCA
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Rockabilly, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

In the wake of the number one British ranking for 20 Golden Greats in 1978 and the release of the feature film The Buddy Holly Story, MCA U.K. assembled this six-LP box set (which finally was released in the U.S. in February 1981). It traces Buddy Holly's career from his country & western duo with Bob Montgomery in 1954/1955 to his 1956 Nashville sessions for Decca Records; the Clovis, NM, recordings with the Crickets and producer Norman Petty that launched his career in 1957; the New York sessions of 1958; the final 1958 demo recordings; the various posthumously overdubbed versions of the demos; and other assorted rarities. In other words, all the material that Decca/MCA previously had spread across seven LPs -- The "Chirping" Crickets, Buddy Holly, That'll Be the Day, Reminiscing, Showcase, Holly in the Hills, and Giant -- between 1957 and 1969 (not counting the many compilations) was here, plus more. The box also contained an extensive scrapbook, lots of liner notes, and a detailed discography. It was, thus, the state of the art in box sets just prior to the CD era, and given Holly's importance in the history of rock & roll, an essential album for any serious collector. With the passing of the LP era, it is out of print, and MCA claims to be gathering more unreleased material for some comparable box set, though years go by without its appearing. Meanwhile, if you needed one record album to demonstrate what the most popular music of the second half of the 20th century sounded like, this would be it.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Oh Boy!http://itunes.apple.com/album/oh-boy!/id509181745?i=509181746&uo=5
  2. Not Fade Awayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/not-fade-away/id509181745?i=509181747&uo=5
  3. You've Got Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youve-got-love/id509181745?i=509181748&uo=5
  4. Maybe Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-baby/id509181745?i=509181892&uo=5
  5. It's Too Latehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-too-late/id509181745?i=509181900&uo=5
  6. Tell Me Howhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-how/id509181745?i=509181901&uo=5
  7. That'll Be the Dayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thatll-be-the-day/id509181745?i=509181902&uo=5
  8. I'm Lookin' for Someone to Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-lookin-for-someone-to-love/id509181745?i=509181903&uo=5
  9. An Empty Cup (And a Broken Heart)http://itunes.apple.com/album/an-empty-cup-and-a-broken-heart/id509181745?i=509181904&uo=5
  10. Send Me Some Lovin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/send-me-some-lovin/id509181745?i=509181905&uo=5
  11. Rock Me My Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rock-me-my-baby/id509181745?i=509181906&uo=5
  12. Peggy Suehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/peggy-sue/id509181745?i=509181907&uo=5
  13. Look At Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/look-at-me/id509181745?i=509182021&uo=5
  14. Listen to Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/listen-to-me/id509181745?i=509182022&uo=5
  15. Valley of Tearshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/valley-of-tears/id509181745?i=509182023&uo=5
  16. Ready Teddyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ready-teddy/id509181745?i=509182024&uo=5
  17. Everydayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everyday/id509181745?i=509182025&uo=5
  18. Mail Man Bring Me No More Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mail-man-bring-me-no-more-blues/id509181745?i=509182026&uo=5
  19. Words of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/words-of-love/id509181745?i=509182027&uo=5
  20. You're So Square (Baby, I Don't Care)http://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-so-square-baby-i-dont/id509181745?i=509182028&uo=5
  21. Rave Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rave-on/id509181745?i=509182032&uo=5
  22. Little Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/little-baby/id509181745?i=509182033&uo=5
  23. You Are My One Desirehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-are-my-one-desire/id509181745?i=509182047&uo=5
  24. Modern Don Juanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/modern-don-juan/id509181745?i=509182051&uo=5
  25. Rock Around With Ollie Veehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rock-around-with-ollie-vee/id509181745?i=509182077&uo=5
  26. Ting-A-Linghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ting-a-ling/id509181745?i=509182078&uo=5
  27. Girl On My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/girl-on-my-mind/id509181745?i=509182079&uo=5
  28. I'm Changing All Those Changeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-changing-all-those-changes/id509181745?i=509182080&uo=5
  29. Don't Come Back Knockinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-come-back-knocking/id509181745?i=509182081&uo=5
  30. Midnight Shifthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/midnight-shift/id509181745?i=509182082&uo=5
  31. Raining in My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/raining-in-my-heart/id509181745?i=509182083&uo=5
  32. Early in the Morninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/early-in-the-morning/id509181745?i=509182224&uo=5
  33. Heartbeathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heartbeat/id509181745?i=509182225&uo=5
  34. Think It Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/think-it-over/id509181745?i=509182226&uo=5
  35. It's So Easyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-so-easy/id509181745?i=509182227&uo=5
  36. It Doesn't Matter Anymorehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-doesnt-matter-anymore/id509181745?i=509182228&uo=5
  37. Peggy Sue Got Marriedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/peggy-sue-got-married/id509181745?i=509182229&uo=5
  38. Well...All Righthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/well...all-right/id509181745?i=509182230&uo=5
  39. What to Dohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/what-to-do/id509181745?i=509182231&uo=5
  40. That Makes It Toughhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/that-makes-it-tough/id509181745?i=509182237&uo=5
  41. Now We're Onehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/now-were-one/id509181745?i=509182272&uo=5
  42. Take Your Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/take-your-time/id509181745?i=509182273&uo=5
  43. Crying, Waiting, Hopinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/crying-waiting-hoping/id509181745?i=509182274&uo=5
  44. True Love Wayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/true-love-ways/id509181745?i=509182275&uo=5
  45. Learning the Gamehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/learning-the-game/id509181745?i=509182277&uo=5
  46. Moondreamshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/moondreams/id509181745?i=509182278&uo=5
  47. That's What They Sayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-what-they-say/id509181745?i=509182279&uo=5
  48. Blue Days, Black Nightshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blue-days-black-nights/id509181745?i=509182280&uo=5
  49. Love Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-me/id509181745?i=509182281&uo=5
  50. Fool's Paradisehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fools-paradise/id509181745?i=509182282&uo=5
  51. Lonesome Tearshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lonesome-tears/id509181745?i=509182283&uo=5
  52. Real Wild Childhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/real-wild-child/id509181745?i=509182286&uo=5
  53. Oh You Beautiful Dollhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/oh-you-beautiful-doll/id509181745?i=509182287&uo=5
  54. Last Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/last-night/id509181745?i=509182288&uo=5
  55. More Than I Can Sayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/more-than-i-can-say/id509181745?i=509182453&uo=5
  56. RockinĀ“ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Fluhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rockin-pneumonia-boogie-woogie/id509181745?i=509182458&uo=5
  57. Great Balls of Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/great-balls-of-fire/id509181745?i=509182459&uo=5
  58. Ting-a-Linghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ting-a-ling/id509181745?i=509182460&uo=5
  59. Just This Oncehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-this-once/id509181745?i=509182461&uo=5
  60. Deborahhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/deborah/id509181745?i=509182462&uo=5
  61. Baby My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-my-heart/id509181745?i=509182464&uo=5
  62. When You Ask About Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-you-ask-about-love/id509181745?i=509182465&uo=5
  63. Time Will Tellhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-will-tell/id509181745?i=509182466&uo=5
  64. A Sweet Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-sweet-love/id509181745?i=509182467&uo=5
  65. I Fought the Lawhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-fought-the-law/id509181745?i=509182468&uo=5
  66. LoveĀ“s Made a Fool of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-s-made-a-fool-of-you/id509181745?i=509182490&uo=5
purchase full album