July 22, 2003
EMI Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Alternative Metal, Hard Rock

Album Review

The last time that Jane's Addiction headlined Lollapalooza behind a high-profile album was, of course, 1991. Much changed in 12 years, though, and the declining fortunes of Perry Farrell's breakthrough festival during the summer of 2003 were matched by a return from three-fourths of the original Jane's Addiction lineup on its third full album, Strays. Farrell, guitarist Dave Navarro, drummer Stephen Perkins, and bassist Eric Avery (who declined his reunion invitation) had been a vision of '80s musical heaven since their studio debut, 1988's Nothing's Shocking. Farrell's art-school intelligence and originality made the band interesting, while Navarro's and Perkins' background in heavy metal (they're both significantly younger than Farrell) gave the band punch, adding the melodicism of power pop and the constant riffing of thrash. Strays is undeniably a Jane's Addiction record, and a powerful one at that. Farrell's regal, echo-laden vocals are intact (and out in front like never before), as are Navarro's ragged, lyrical guitar solos. This set of majestic jams is influenced by Farrell's second Porno for Pyros LP, Good God's Urge, a mystical mishmash of musical feelings and textures. The allure of Jane's Addiction is undiminished by Strays; this is still a band creating music unlike any other group on earth.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. True Nature
  2. Strays
  3. Just Because
  4. Price I Pay
  5. The Riches
  6. Superhero
  7. Wrong Girl
  8. Everybody's Friend
  9. Suffer Some
  10. Hypersonic
  11. To Match the Sun
  12. [Untitled Hidden Track]
purchase full album