Pop/Rock, Baroque Pop, Obscuro, Psychedelic Pop, Psychedelic

Album Review

A timepiece in the less impressive sense of the term, seeking to fuse the conceptual ambition and sophisticated production of Pet Sounds and Song Cycle with MOR pop. It doesn't work that well, particularly since songwriter Tupper Saussy is clearly more well-versed in (and comfortable with) MOR pop. The collision of grandoise romantic songs, rococo string arrangements, and a touch of psychedelic experimentation is so bizarre that it exerts a strange fascination, but it doesn't make for durable music. The album included the hit single, "Morning Girl"; the CD reissue adds six bonus cuts from non-LP singles that are more straightforward than the bulk of The Moth Confesses, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Brilliant Colors
  2. Cowboy
  3. The New Life Out There
  4. Morning Girl
  5. Midsummer Night
  6. Little Sparrow
  7. The Last Time I Saw Jacqueline
  8. Morning Girl, Later
  9. Heighdy-Ho Princess [*]
  10. Don't Know My Way Around My Soul [*]
  11. Flowers for Your Pillow [*]
  12. Clouds [*]
  13. Snow [*]
  14. To Be Continued [*]