Pop/Rock, Rockabilly, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

In the mid-'70s, while MCA's American management was pretty well ignoring the Buddy Holly holdings in its catalog, its British unit -- well aware of the growing cult of Holly fans in England -- was busy exploring that tape library and thinking of ways to make it more available. One result was this LP, a slightly expanded re-release of the 1958 album That'll Be the Day, comprised of Holly's 1956 Nashville sessions. The bonus track is an alternate take of "Rock Around with Ollie Vee" -- itself a lost rock classic -- but all of the tracks were significantly improved in sound quality. More important, this was the first upgrade ever done of an existing Buddy Holly album, and the first attempt to apply scholarship and full historical perspective to Holly's music, thus anticipating the box set that would follow from MCA's British label a couple of years later. And it was the first attempt by a major label (or a division thereof) to thread a scholarly needle with a rock & roll artist of Holly's stature, explaining why these weren't the best sides that the guy ever recorded, but also why they were important and well worth buying anyway.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Peggy Sue
  2. That'll Be the Day
  3. Listen to Me
  4. Everyday
  5. Oh, Boy!
  6. Not Fade Away
  7. Maybe Baby
  8. Rave On
  9. Think It Over
  10. It's So Easy
  11. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  12. True Love Ways
  13. You Are My One Desire
  14. Blue Days, Black Nights
  15. Modern Don Juan
  16. Rock Around With Ollie Vee [2]
  17. Ting-A-Ling
  18. Girl on My Mind
  19. Love Me
  20. Changing All Those Changes
  21. Don't Come Back Knockin'
  22. Midnight Shift