September 12, 1995
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Neo-Psychedelia, Alternative/Indie Rock, Album Rock, American Trad Rock

Album Review

After the fuzz-rock revivalism of Are You Gonna Go My Way, Lenny Kravitz seems to have settled into a comfortable groove, alternating between early-'70s album rock and early-'70s soul, with the occasional Prince flourish thrown in for good measure. Circus is the weakest of Kravitz's albums, simply because he didn't change his style in a distinctive manner, replicating the sound of Are You Gonna Go My Way instead. To compound his problems, Kravitz kicks off the record with "Rock and Roll Is Dead," a workmanlike rewrite of "Are You Gonna Go My Way" that lacks hooks. However, after one more half-hearted rocker, Circus begins to open up, as Kravitz turns in a series of ballads and lightly psychedelic mid-tempo pop numbers, which prove to be his real strength.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Rock and Roll Is Dead
  2. Circus
  3. Beyond the 7th Sky
  4. Tunnel Vision
  5. Can't Get You off My Mind
  6. Magdalene
  7. God Is Love
  8. Thin Ice
  9. Don't Go and Put a Bullet in Your Head
  10. In My Life Today
  11. Resurrection